Our motel is just across the street from the Assisi train station, but Assisi is actually the city up on the hill. We are in Saint maria or something... I am still not sure. Ha. AAnwyay it is beautiful here. Very hot, but I am surviving. Drinking lots of water. Bottled water is very expensive so I am glad that I brought my Nalgene... not sure if Italian water is safe to drink, but until I start feeling sick I will take that risk.
you will have to excuse my lack of capitalization and misspellings. it is very strange to type on these keyboards!
there is a ginormous church here. it is a church inside a church. a long long time ago saint francis would walk down to the small church and pray. eventually so many people were following him and sleeping in the forest that they decided to build an even larger church around the old one. we are going to go into it this evening or tomorrow morning. you cant wear shorts or shirts that show your shoulders or dresses... no pictures inside either. so we will come back later with longer pants and t shirts on.
We met two of the other tutors last night. Had pizza and walked around with them. They are both very nice guys!! One from UK and the other is from kind of all over he said. Nate and Ashleigh are super nice and they found us in town last night and we had a drink and got to know each other. sounds like it is going to be a very busy and fun summer. i am really looking forward to working with them.
i dont have much else to report... oh. yes i do. so there is a mc donalds here in this smaller village. crazy!! and the drive through is called a mcdrive. haha. apparently its way better than american mcdonalds but we didnt go there yet.
drivers in rome are so ridiculous. i have pictures to show how they park.... basically they will park anywhere and they weave around each other like its no big deal.... i dont get it. i was concerned that all of italy drove like that, but the drivers around here are much more like drivers at home. i was really surprised to see that they have fords and chevys and stuff here... like i saw a ford focus. but you can definitely tell that it is an european car because it looks more square than an american ford focus. very interesting. haha.
well my time is about up on this computer. will blog again in a few days hopefully.
love from italy!
ciao!!
i guess that is about all i know for now.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
Yeah! Can you send some hot weather our way? SAfe and fun travels dear Sammy!
ReplyDelete